A Series Of Unfortunate Events – The Strange Problem I Have With Lemony Snicket

Lemony Snicket? Yes I Know. It's All That Running Around

Lemony Snicket? Yes I Know. It’s All That Running Around

 

 Lemony Snicket is the pen name of Daniel Handler. Mr Handler is the author of a great number of successful children’s books. I have no problem with either the author or his books. I have never read any of them of course, me being a childless 44 year old. I have seen the film “A Series Of Unfortunate Events” though,  and found it imaginative and enjoyable. I assume that his books, on which the film is based, are of the same creative and fantastical ilk. So I say more power to Mr Handler and long may he continue to write.

I do have a problem with Lemony Snicket though. Not with the author’s alter ego, who also appears as a character in his own books. Nice touch that. I like that idea. No, I just have a problem with the name itself. Lemony Snicket. It sounds like a euphemism for some minor gynaecological ailment that an overly polite doctor might use :

“It’s alright dear, you’ve just got a little bit of a Lemony Snicket. Put this ointment on it three times a day and it should clear up in about a week.”

Is that just me? To be fair, it probably is. I suspect this is the case because I also have a problem with the name “Tatiana”. Not with any of the girls called Tatiana. Again, the problem lies with just the name itself. To me, this name sounds like a less-than-polite euphemism a young chap might use in discussing a recent one night stand.

“You finally nailed Tina then?”

“Oh yeah. Been there and done that now.”

“How was it then?”

“Pretty good as it happens. Nice ass. Firm tits. She’s got a bit of a Tatty Yana, though.”

I think this must be a middle aged bloke thing. The more wear and tear you get on your own naughty bits, the more your subconscious gets obsessed with amateur gynaecology. Oh, just me again? Thought so.

© Copyright Michael Grimes 2013

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About thedailygrime

At that awkward age - too young to be a grumpy old man, but just acerbic and downtrodden enough to have an opinion. Read it here.

10 responses to “A Series Of Unfortunate Events – The Strange Problem I Have With Lemony Snicket”

  1. thirdnews says :

    I read all the books, and they have that original intent of a cautionary fairy before the Disneyesque bastardization we all all familiar with.

    It might be not just you, but everyone else who refers to breasts, vaginas and penises as “naughty bits” 😉

    • thedailygrime says :

      I might just read the books then. No shame in that. I occasionally re-read the Narnia books after all. Are breasts, penises and vaginas really “naughty” though? They are if you know what you’re doing.

      Boom, boom.

  2. eden baylee says :

    Mike,

    I think you’re a logophile, and words/names fascinate you. I’m the same way.

    You should see the look I get when I invite someone to pet my pussy. 😉

    eden

    • thedailygrime says :

      I bet they’re nothing compared to the looks I get when I ask people to pet mine. A gratifying mixture of horror and disbelief. Reckon you’re right about the word thing. I read dictionaries. For fun. My favourite is one called “The Vulgar Tongue”, which is a dictionary of 18th century swearwords. The title’s pretty racy too.

      Mike x

      • eden baylee says :

        Ha, I knew it! I read a Thesaurus for fun, and my favourite is — The Bald-Headed Hermit & The Artichoke: An Erotic Thesaurus. There are more words to describe the male genitalia than any other word in the English language.

        I must look up The Vulgar Tongue.

        eden

      • thedailygrime says :

        You should. My favourite from it is “Joining Giblets”. This is the 18th Century equivalent of “Bumping Uglies”. I shall check out The Bald-Headed Hermit. Sounds interesting.

        Mike

      • thedailygrime says :

        If you like word games, you should invest in a copy of “The Deeper Meaning of Liff” by Douglas Adams and John Lloyd. It’s based on a games they invented staying in a villa in Corfu while Douglas should have been writing the novelization of “The Hitchhiker’s Guides To The Galaxy”.

        The game basically involves taking a placename e.g. Nantucket and inventing a dictionary definition for it. Hence: Nantucket (n) The secret pocket that eats your train tickets.

        My favourite is Shoeburyness (n) The vague uncomfortable feeling you get when you sit on a seat which is still warm from somebody else’s bottom.

        If you haven’t already read it, you’re in for a treat.

        Mikex

  3. eden baylee says :

    Wow, thank you. I picked up The Vulgar Tongue, found it free online, which was a nice surprise. Yes, love word games. I’m a Scrabble freak and I love crosswords so the book by Adams and Lloyd sounds right up my alley.

    Thank you Mike 😀
    eden

  4. Ned's Blog says :

    “Lemon curd” has the same effect on me.

Leave a Reply

